24HR Listings (902) 532-5466 - Box-Office (902) 532-7704

King’s Shorts Info



King’s Shorts wishes to announce that the 2020 selection of eight plays for the 14th Annual Festival of 10-minute plays will take place June 11-13, 2021.

In alphabetical order, the selected plays and playwrights are:

  • A Blaze of Glory written by Shawn Samuelson Henry, North Carolina
  • A Bridge Not Far Enough written by Rosemary Frisino Toohey, Baltimore, MD
  • Cross Purposes by Janet Godsell, Wellington, NS
  • Hail, Hail written by Gene DeJoie, Los Angeles, CA
  • Hard of Hearing written by Cheryl Burchell, Yarmouth, NS
  • October written by Paul Lewis, Seattle, WA
  • Ribeted by You written by Nancy Hopps, Eugene, OR
  • The Cove, 1690 AM written by Jim Prime, New Minas, NS

Plans are underway for the 15th Annual Festival to take place in the Fall of 2021. Details to follow.

King’s Shorts Committee: Oliver Bass, Jane DeWolfe, Verilea Ellis (Coordinator), Doug Glenen, Adrian Nette, and Elizabeth Rhymer.


  • First Place: Last Call, Aviva Fleising
  • Second Place: Non-Fiction, Gene DeJoie
  • The People’s Choice:  Book Ends, Shawn Samuelson Henry

2019 Program


  • First Place: Hints and Allegations, Sid Filkow
  • Second Place: The Order of Good Cheer, Glenna Prime and Jim Prime
  • The People’s Choice: The Order of Good Cheer, Glenna Prime and Jim Prime

2018 Program


  • First Place:  A Second Hand Love Story, Glenna Prime
  • Second Place:  Installing a GPS, Margot Bishop
  • The People’s Choice:  Funeral Sandwiches, Jim Prime and Ben Robicheau

2017 Program


  • First Place:  Chase the Ace, Charles Salmon
  • Second Place:  Never Give Up, James Hutchison
  • Peoples Choice: The Agency Sent Me, Jim Prime

2016 Program


2015 Program


  • First Place:  Western Music in the Meringue, Sandi Johnson
  • Second Place: Better Safe than Sorry, George Freek
  • Peoples Choice: The Rubber Duck, Janet Godsell

2014 Program


  • First Place:  The Business Plan, Philip Hall
  • Second Place: As the Glaciers Melt, Janet Godsell
  • Peoples Choice: Speed Dating at Elderberry Manor, Eloise Comeau Murray

2013 Program


  • First Place: The Chair, Charles Salmon
  • Second Place: A Business Arrangement, Janet Godsell
  • Peoples Choice: A Business Arrangement, Janet Godsell

2012 Program


  • First Place:  Trusting, Janet Godsell
  • Second Place: True Confessions, Wayne Currie
  • Peoples Choice: A Twisted Tale, Sue Higgs

2011 Program


  • First Place:  A Little Secret, Janet Godsell
  • Second Place: Touch of Grace, Wendy Lockman
  • Peoples Choice: Is it Wednesday?, Pam Calabrese Maclean

2010 Program


  • First Place: Saved, Janet Godsell
  • Second Place: Awake, Pam Calabrese MacLean
  • Peoples Choice: Soon Miss Guttenberg? Oh Yes, Soon Mr Abraham, Paula Montgomery

2009 Program


  • First Place: What Was That Again, Wayne Currie
  • Second Place: Drawing the Line, Janet Godsell
  • Peoples Choice: Drawing the Line, Janet Godsell

2008 Program


  • First Place: The Lonely Island
  • Second Place: Not Awarded
  • Peoples Choice: Not Awarded


King’s Shorts: A Brief History
In 2006, Dean Taylor, local Annapolis Royal playwright, was discussing ten minute plays with some members of the Annapolis District Drama Group, as well as with the Executive Director of Theatre Nova Scotia. They all felt that a ten minute play festival was the perfect fit for the Annapolis area and King’s Theatre. Dean formed a committee that year, and in June 2007, the King’s Shorts Festival of Ten Minute Plays was born.

The Festival Today
Including the submissions for 2019, 798 plays have been submitted to the Festival from playwrights across Canada, United States, United Kingdom, Greece, New Zealand, Australia, Israel, and India. Every June eight plays are produced. The festival has included plays by first time playwrights and by experienced playwrights, by amateur writers and by professional writers, by men and by women, by young writers and by “more mature” writers.

Our Goal

Aside from being a fundraiser for King’s Theatre, King’s Shorts has two main goals. The first is to make live theatre more accessible to all: the audience, playwrights, directors and performers alike, and the second is to help them experience, or continue to experience, the joy of live theatre. To that end, each play performed is assigned its own director and that director sets his/her cast of players. At each annual performance, a first and second place winner, based on the written work, is chosen by Theatre Nova Scotia. As well, a People’s Choice Award is selected by the audiences at the three performances of the festival.

Our Challenge to You

If you have never been involved with live theatre this is your chance. The plays are only ten minutes long so it’s a great opportunity to “jump in” with both feet. We are always looking for playwrights (new or used), and actors (experienced or otherwise), for directors (we’ll even give you a little training), for backstage crew (you only need a black t-shirt) and for audience members (you simply need the ability to enjoy yourself). In whatever capacity you choose, we look forward to seeing you at the Festival in June.



Forgot Password?

Join Us